Back To Basics

November 15, 2010

It seems like a trend that if you are picking up Korean (Japanese) now, you’ll end up picking up Japanese (Korean) some time later in your life as well.

Yes, I’m now trying to pick up Japanese (although my Korean is still so far from fluency).

I’ve probably mentioned before that I’m in the service frontline. As such, I get to meet people from all over the world. I’m always praying for Korean guests who can’t speak English so I can practice my speaking but as fate would have it, my workplace is flooded with Japanese guests. Majority of these guests can’t speak English, so whenever they try to ask for directions, both them and I have lots of “???”s floating above our heads. I can’t understand what they are trying to ask, they don’t understand my directions. So, aiming to provide the best service (H-A-H-A), I decided to learn to pick up a few useful phrases.

I have always wanted to learn Japanese, but the passion for it just cannot be compared with Korean. I only want to learn how to speak, not to write (is that possible..?). There are just far too many scripts (Japanese) and too little brain cells (me). Whatever it is, learning to give directions is my topmost priority and I don’t have the time to learn the scripts and thus… *drum rolls* I’m learning through romanisations!

OK. I know it’s not the best way to learn any language, but it’s one that I’m most comfortable with. We have to live with the fact that we cannot have perfect pronunciation right from the beginning so romanisation is how we can at least kickstart something. For me, (close-enough) perfect pronunciation comes from a lot of listening, and even more imitation (I’m working on that for Korean).

I’m not exactly dreaming of perfect pronunciation now, I just hope that whatever I’m (trying to) remember and use will be of a help to my service and my customers.

Yoroshiku onegaishimasu!

2 Responses to “Back To Basics”

  1. Chantelle Says:

    Good luck with your Japanese studies! 🙂 Before I studied Korean, I studied Japanese but abandoned it before I got to a truly advanced level. After I improve my Korean, I hope to study Japanese again.

    I suppose that romanized Japanese is okay to start with, but it’s always great to get to the real scripts as soon as possible.

  2. 수이 Says:

    Thanks!! =D I will eventually!

    I find the Japanese scripts too difficult because there are different “systems” and one small little dot someone makes a lot of difference! It’s always fun to learn languages, and someday I HOPE to pick up some French as well. I’m telling myself I shouldn’t do too many at one time, especially after I realised I’m at the bottleneck for my Korean. I have seen an example of how juggling too much at one time can cause you more confusion than it’s worth if you’re not careful.


Leave a Reply

